DUI Charges: Can a Lawyer Help?

dui charges

An arrest for driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol in Utah can be incredibly distressing, but you need to remember that an arrest is not the same as a conviction. A prosecutor still needs to prove your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt, and this burden of proof is the highest possible burden in the criminal justice system.

The result for many alleged DUI offenders is that they may be be able to avoid harsh penalties when they are working with Provo DUI attorneys. Howard Lewis & Petersen is a DUI defense law firm in Provo UT that represents both residents of and visitors to the greater Provo area.

The Salt Lake Tribune reported in August 2019 that Utah actually has the second-strictest DUI laws in the nation, behind only Minnesota. On December 30, 2018, Utah officially lowered its blood alcohol concentration (BAC) standard from the customary 0.08 to 0.05, the lowest drunk driving standard in the country.

Our firm understands that people can be arrested for drunk or drugged driving even when alleged offenders believe that they were not impaired. Howard Lewis & Petersen can work to determine all of the defenses that may be available to you and then work to possibly get your criminal charges reduced or dismissed.

A first DUI offense in Utah is punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a fine of at least $1,310. The fine can increase to $1,560 for a second DUI, and third offenses become punishable by up to five years in prison and fines of at least $2,850.

If you were recently arrested for DUI in Utah, make sure that you are working with an experienced DUI defense law firm in Provo UT. Howard Lewis & Petersen has a team of Provo DUI attorneys who will work tirelessly to help you achieve the most favorable possible outcome to your case.

Posted November 15th, 2019