Types of Utah Misdemeanors:
A misdemeanor is a lower offense than a Utah felony. A misdemeanor can be punished with a county jail term of up to one year and, or a fine. You can not go to prison for a misdemeanor conviction. There are three categories of Utah misdemeanors.
|CLASS||POSSIBLE JAIL TERM||POSSIBLE FINE|
|Class A||No more than 1 year in jail||Not greater than $2,500|
|Class B||No more than 6 months in jail||Not greater than $1,000|
|Class C||No more than 90 days in jail||Not greater than $750|
CHARGED WITH A UTAH MISDEMEANOR? WE CAN HELP.
Utah Misdemeanor Cases From Start to Finish. Learn more about the process.
Common Utah Misdemeanors with Devastating Collateral Effects:
DUI Utah DUI, drugged or Impaired driving cases are complicated. Should you be charged with a drunk driving offense, call the trial lawyers at Howard Lewis & Petersen, PC for a free consultation concerning your criminal charges.
Domestic Violence Often, domestic violence cases have numerous defenses and the stakes are high. If you are charged with a crime of domestic violence, you should consult a trial lawyer who is capable of trying the case in front of a jury.
Damage to or Interruption of a Communication Device If you are charged with a crime of domestic violence for allegedly interfering with a communication device during a dispute the criminal defense, trial lawyers at Howard Lewis & Petersen, PC can help.
Assault Charges When you are facing Assault charges or aggravated assault charges and you did not start the fight, but were merely protecting yourself, you will need an aggressive Utah criminal defense attorney who will dig deep in preparation on your case.
Drug Charges You will need a good trial lawyer when you are falsely accused of possession of drug paraphernalia when they either were not yours or were simple, innocent items that the police mistook at drug paraphernalia.
Possession of Illegal Drugs Possession and Distribution charges should be taken very seriously as even first time offenders can be sentenced to prison for many years. An experienced criminal defense trial lawyer can help you alleviate or win against the great weight of the government.
Small Possession of Marijuana Being charged with even small amounts of marijuana is still illegal in Utah. A petty marijuana conviction in Utah carries mandatory driver’s license suspensions, fines, court probation and possible a substance abuse evaluation.
Retail Theft Utah’s retail theft occurs when a person steals from a business whose purpose is to sell goods. If you are charged with retail theft contact the Utah criminal defense attorneys today.
Retail Theft Restitution If you are convicted of Retail Theft, the court will order criminal restitution, meaning you will have to pay back what was illegally taken.
Property Crimes The bulk of Utah’s property crimes are listed in the Utah Criminal Code at Utah Code Ann. 76-6-101. These include robbery, retail theft criminal mischief, arson, fraud, library theft, criminal trespass, and burglary to name a few.
Pleas in Abeyance In general, a Plea in Abeyance is where you admit guilt and the judge holds your guilty plea and gives you a probationary period to see if you will screw up again. If you successfully complete the terms of your Plea in Abeyance, your criminal case will be dismissed and you will not have a criminal conviction for that charge.
Restitution Law Criminal restitution in Utah can be a very serious financial obligation that has everlasting affects. Criminal restitution is not dischargeable in Bankruptcy proceedings. If you have a criminal restitution hearing the attorney at Howard Lewis & Petersen, PC can help.
All criminal convictions have collateral consequences. Hiring an attorney at Howard Lewis & Petersen, PC will help you mitigate these consequences.
Call Howard Lewis & Petersen, PC at (801) 373-6345.